× Auto Repair Pros Member Benefits TechHelp Knowledge Base Forums Resources My iATN Marketplace Chat Pricing About Us Join Industry Sponsors Video Members Only Repair Shops Auto Pro Careers Auto Pro Reviews
Join Now
International Automotive Technicians Network
Don't be a hero
Posted to Shop Management Forum on 10/7/2013 50 Replies

When I was a tech I wanted to fix everything ... bring me the car that nobody else can fix, I welcomed the challenge. When I switched to a s/w I told everybody "yes, we can fix that." I would bring in anything, I loved the car that nobody else could fix. As years went by, I changed. I came to believe in things like gross profit, comebacks, net profit, and billable hours. I came to realize that being the hero that fixed that car... no matter what... was satisfying to my ego, but damaging to my paycheck. The same is true for a shop.

As a shop, there are a few things that are finite, things that you have a limited amount of and have to maximize. The two biggest are time and space.

You have approximately 40 hours per week per technician to sell, assuming you believe in a 40 hour work week.

You have x number of lifts in your shop, whatever that number is, it doesn't change easily.

One of the things a manager should do is maximize that time and space. Put your technicians in the best possible position to succeed.

That difficult driveability job where a tech has to spend 12 hours scoping sensors, road testing, tracing wires etc. to find out that the ground wire is broken can be a huge drag on the shop. Even if you do charge for every minute your tech is working on it, you've tied up a rack and a technician for a day and a half in order to have a gross profit of approximate 60% of your labor rate (I'm assuming that the guy who is doing this is your highest paid tech)