× Auto Repair Pros Member Benefits TechHelp Knowledge Base Forums Resources My iATN Marketplace Chat Pricing About Us Join Industry Sponsors Video Members Only Repair Shops Auto Pro Careers Auto Pro Reviews
Join Now
International Automotive Technicians Network
How teaching safety became important to me
Posted to Educators Forum on 6/29/2012 20 Replies

How teaching safety became important to me:

I retired at the end of the 2011 school year after teaching automotive for 38 years.

While reading an IATN thread about safety last year (http://members.iatn.net/forums/search/search.aspx?action=viewthread&m=25056&t=25048&forum=forum7&ft=1&fv=4&qv=1), I realized how much I had learned about safety, much of it while on the job. I really feel a need to share some of those experiences with other teachers.

I had been teaching for only 6 or 7 months when the only major accident of my career occurred. After I retired, I started sorting through some of the things I had accumulated over the years. One of the things I ran across was a deposition to which I gave testimony after that accident in which one student was seriously injured due to another youngster's lapse in judgment.

Here's my story. My 1st period class started at 7:30 a.m.. Even juvenile delinquents can be pretty subdued at that time of the morning and this was one of my favorite classes. I used to have lunch in the staff room with other teachers and staff. My vice principal, Buck Buchanan, was impressed because I had so many of his trouble kids in that class and during our frequent lunchroom encounters I often told him that I thoroughly enjoyed my group. They had lots of personality and I wish I had kept a log of all of the quirky things they did. For those of you who are old enough to remember, this was during the time of Welcome Back Cotter and these kids were my Sweathogs.