× Auto Repair Pros Member Benefits TechHelp Knowledge Base Forums Resources My iATN Marketplace Chat Pricing About Us Join Industry Sponsors Video Members Only Repair Shops Auto Pro Careers Auto Pro Reviews
Join Now
International Automotive Technicians Network
Why you should have a dedicated Service Advisor!
Posted to Shop Management Forum on 9/18/2012 124 Replies

After several post about using a Tech as a Service Advisor I thought I would share my thoughts. Without derailing the other thread.

Is a tech the best at selling repair work? My answer is most of the time NO! Why you ask? First to give you some back ground I have more time as a Salesman than I do as a tech, so I know sales. I think I am a better salesman than I am a Tech.

Techs are by nature are technically orientated people, in sales too much info is almost always a bad thing, it confuses the customer, most do not care what a MAF does or really why they need one, all they care about is how much and will it fix my issue. Adding to much info just makes the customer question you more and the more you talk the less they listen, in sales after the presentation the first one to talk looses!

Going to a customer with a broke car and telling them it will be $XXXX.xx is never an easy thing, people can smell fear, and most techs are not sales people and lose their confidence real quick when having to ask a lot of money from someone, especially if it will impact their paycheck. You lose your confidence the customer can tell, and will have a larger issue approving the work just because you did not show confidence at close.

If a tech already has a full day scheduled and finds more needed work will he really try to up sell? Will they call to get approval to keep the car another day etc? Or blow it off in their mind thinking they will not buy it anyway so why bother.